Fieldwork report – Linda-Liisa from Tasmania (part 2)

/Here is another report from our PhD-student Linda-Liisa Veromann, who is currently working in Tasmania. Her first blog post can be found here./

I have been in Tasmania for five weeks now and thing are going great.

I’m collecting data faster than I thought I would, so I will likely be able to do a few more species than I originally intended. The number of plant species available for study here still amazes me and I am very excited to come to work every day!

So far, the data looks good and the plants are opening their stomata nicely: co-operating well with me!

View from the window in the lab where I use the fume hood.

View from the window in the lab where I use the fume hood.

Everyone is so helpful and wonderful! I have made good friends here!

I don’t have to carry the heaviest pots:)

I don’t have to carry the heaviest pots:)

A little skink, whose home I was apparently measuring, came out to see what’s going on.

A little skink, whose home I was apparently measuring, came out to see what’s going on.

In addition to collecting data and anatomical samples, I have listened to several interesting seminars about what other people are doing here, both with plants and animals. There are a lot of interesting projects going on here! I find the research concerning stomata and cavitation extremely interesting, even groundbreaking.

Also, I have learnt a how to use some of the equipment they have here, like the LI-COR and some useful ways to make my work faster, for example how to measure leaf area quicker.

Although, it’s autumn here now, it’s still quite warm – something like the middle of Estonian spring, so it will be very similar to the weather in Tartu soon. If I’m not working, I am using my weekends here to explore the wonders of Tasmania with a couple of great people I met at the University of Tasmania.

My friend from UTAS, Rob found a butterfly on a field trip to check out a research site.

My friend from UTAS, Rob found a butterfly on a field trip to check out a research site.

I am doing everything so the five weeks left here would be even more productive and fun as well!

Sending my regards to everyone,

Linda-Liisa

Feeding a joey in Bonorong Wildlife Park.

Feeding a joey in Bonorong Wildlife Park.

View of Hobart from Mt Wellington.

View of Hobart from Mt Wellington.

A sleepy koala eating gum leaves.

A sleepy koala eating gum leaves.

Tasmanian devil in Bonorong Wildlife Park.

Tasmanian devil in Bonorong Wildlife Park.

This entry was posted in Other news and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fieldwork report – Linda-Liisa from Tasmania (part 2)

  1. Pingback: Fieldwork report – Linda-Liisa from Tasmania (part 3) | Ülo Niinemets’ Lab

  2. Pingback: Fieldwork report – Linda-Liisa from Western Australia | Ülo Niinemets’ Lab

Leave a Reply

