Fieldwork report – Linda-Liisa from Tasmania (part 3)

/Here is the third and final report from our PhD-student Linda-Liisa Veromann, who is currently finishing up her work in Tasmania, and will soon return to Tartu. Her first blog post can be found here and second here./

Greetings from Tasmania!

llv3_01

My time here is starting to come to an end – only one more week left and then I start my two-day journey back to Tartu. I am so happy that I got the opportunity to collect my data here and work with these amazing people (who are also excellent scientists). This has been such an amazing experience!

I am going to miss these wonderful folks!

I am doing my best to convince everyone to participate in the ENVIRON conference in October and also get a glimpse of a proper colourful autumn.

Sequoia sempervirens

Sequoia sempervirens

So far, I have collected more data than I planned and, judging from the preliminary sorting, it still seems to be of good quality!

In addition to Walz data, I will have a lot of anatomical samples to analyze when I get back! The pile in the Petri dish is even overflowing by now

In addition to Walz data, I will have a lot of anatomical samples to analyze when I get back! The pile in the Petri dish is even overflowing by now

Some cuticle samples as well.

Some cuticle samples as well.

This is the most colourful street I have seen this autumn here

This is the most colourful street I have seen this autumn here

Those who haven’t been to the northern latitudes in fall don’t really know what it’s supposed to be like, because there is only one native seasonally deciduous tree and some European trees scattered here and there. I am looking forward to coming home to spring and longer days, though.

View from the bigger lab at 5.30 already!

View from the bigger lab at 5.30 already!

At Tahune AirWalk Cantilever 37 m up in the canopy

At Tahune AirWalk Cantilever 37 m up in the canopy

Despite the occasional shower and ever-progressing autumn, I have had a chance to explore Hobart and Tasmania. Furthermore, I am planning one final trip to see a bit more of the southern part of Tazzie.

All the best and see you soon,

Linda-Liisa

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fieldwork report – Linda-Liisa from Tasmania (part 3)

  1. Pingback: Fieldwork report – Linda-Liisa from Western Australia | Ülo Niinemets’ Lab

Leave a Reply

